What Our Clients have to Say

  • positive review  I would recommend Darren to any and everyone. The change in me and my girl I feel is incredible, it’s like I have a totally new relationship with her. I couldn’t be happier! Thank you so much

    thumb Holly Hastings
    October 19, 2019

    positive review  Darren has a great ability to help people with their dogs. We recently attended puppy preschool and found him friendly, approachable, knowledgeable and passionate!. He goes the extra mile to help when needed to ensure your puppy/dog can be a life long pet to enjoy.

    thumb Sally Brunton
    October 4, 2019

    positive review  I feel so lucky! Over 1 short month my dog Hurley had suddenly developed quite a bad fear around heights and/or water Prior to this he was just a normal happy dogo It was to the point where it was crippling Hurley when enjoying our walks out and about as he would skitter along the edge of the sidewalk Then we met with Darran! working with him over just 2 sessions was amazing, after the first session improvements could be seen after a short reiki session and getting out and about testing Hurley’s boundaries and beliefs. The second and last session had him happily walking without fear, it has been simply life changing for our dogo and us (you just have to look at the video of Hurley’s before and after to realise the impact Darren had) Darran's expertise and mindfulness approach, by guiding but letting the dogs work it out for themselves I feel is the best approach to any issue you may be facing with your dog I would highly recommend him to everyone to just reach out to him for some help with your beloved dog. I cannot say how happy Hurley is now and i am looking forward to many more enjoyable walks with my dog, Thanks Again

    thumb Rebecca Goodare
    October 3, 2019
  • positive review  First session yesterday with our rescue dog, we’ve only had her less than 2 weeks & this is building her trust in me & our relationship. she’s taken to the clicker training like a dream. I love the no force way that Darran uses by letting the dog work it out for themselves. I cant recommend him highly enough looking forward to our next session. Vicky

    thumb Vicky Hughes
    September 30, 2019

    positive review  thanks for working with our dog jarjar. he certainly improved a lot. the good thing about the sessions is that you make your dog think and have choices using force free techniques. this in turn will let your dog learn to choose the right choices. thanks a lot Darran

    thumb Joseph De Leon
    September 22, 2019

    positive review  All I can stay is amazing, his work he does is outstanding my wee Emma is a different dog would recommend to everyone

    thumb Christina Parsons
    September 17, 2019
  • positive review  We've recently started the puppy graduate course, having already completed the puppy school with our rescue pup, B-Dawg. He'd only been with our family for just over a week when we went to our first class and it's been amazing to see him grow in confidence. He was so anxious in his first class but now he gets stuck in with the other puppies which is fantastic! We've learned such a lot as well and it's good that Darran takes the time to explain why we are doing each training technique. We highly recommend these classes.

    thumb Sarah Rowlands
    September 13, 2019

    positive review  We took on a Staffie cross about a year ago. She was from a rescue centre and was presumed to be aged 5-7 years of age. She had signs of a hard life as she had a few scars , lots of missing teeth and had not long had puppies. She was however an extremely sweet and loving dog and was brilliant with our children and other animals ( horses and goat) . Her only issue was that walk times have not been pleasant as she was temperamental with other dogs. She would always pull on the lead on seeing other dogs and jump up on her back legs which made taking her out a pain. I contacted Darren and was immediately reassured with his quiet calm nature. He was so reassuring yet realistic. We have learned so much about her and understand much more about her body language and hope that this will prevent any incidents happening. I feel so much more confident in handling her. Our relationship has grown as we now do regular training together to learn various tricks. I would whole heartedly recommend Darren. Thank you so much for all you have done for us.

    thumb Melanie Hellier
    September 8, 2019

    positive review  Our little Cav Katie does not like people even sometimes people she knows. What to do? Darren to the rescue. His calm and gentle manner spoke volumes to us even if Katie wasn’t always listening. We love his approach in giving her the time and space to regulate her behaviour and to reward her when she makes the right choice. No force no commands just a calm and unhurried time to think, then act appropriately. Today we made HUGE strides forward as she allowed Darren to come near her, stroke her gently and hold her collar. This was a different dog from the Katie who would have ripped his hand off 4 weeks ago. I can’t recommend Mindfulness 4 dogs and Darren highly enough. He has a genuine empathy for the dogs and they respond with their trust. Thank you for showing us the new way forward

    thumb Pauline Withers
    September 6, 2019
  • positive review  We took our Staffy Tank to see Darran we were having issues with recall. After 2 sessions we have a totally different dog. Thanks so much Darran were looking forward to public outings with our boy

    thumb Jo Bell
    September 2, 2019

    positive review  My sister and I took our Labrador to see Darran for 2x 1-1 lessons to help with lead walking and nervousness towards dogs. Rosie was immediately at ease with Darran which is very unusual for her! Darran's positive techniques and his calm manner instantly worked with Rosie. He explained his techniques and reasoning for them really clearly which made it easy for us to understand and replicate at home. We saw Rosie come along in leaps and bounds after just one lesson and we already feel much more confident when out with her. Can't wait for our 2nd lesson. Would highly recommend Mindfulness4Dogs! Thanks Darran. Kate and Lucy

    thumb Kate Featherston
    August 31, 2019

    positive review  Would highly recommend attending Darrans puppy pre school classes. The classes have been so good in settling and teaching our german shepherd the basics and helping us as owners! Thanks so much for your help

    thumb Kara McKerrow
    August 27, 2019
  • positive review  My pup, Lockie, and I have been attending Darren's puppy classes for around 3 months now. Darren is absolutely fantastic and we have learnt so much from him. His gentle, mindfulness approach works so well and makes so much sense. Lockie is super responsive and we have such a great bond - I understand him so much more now thanks to Darren's teaching. I would absolutely recommend anyone with a new puppy or dog to attend Darren's classes.

    thumb Julie Oliver
    August 27, 2019

    positive review  Darran is amazing at what he does. My puppy Lexi has attended both Puppy class and Bronze level training with him now and I couldn't be happier with the course content and how it is taught. He is very sweet with the animals and I am am very glad to know him as a person! 😊 Thank you for everything Darran and both Lexi and I cannot wait to attend agility with you.

    thumb Jessica Howes
    August 27, 2019

    positive review  We have just finished our second course (puppy and bronze level) and our guys are different dogs with so much more confidence - many thanks

    thumb Tina Dolley
    August 24, 2019
  • positive review  Darran has a wealth of knowledge, is kind and approachable. His classes are excellent for all doggie pawrents.

    thumb Lauree Fuller
    August 20, 2019

    positive review  I am currently doing the Bronze obedience course with my excessively hyperactive chocolate Labrador. The course so far is brilliant. Charlie Brown is almost 3 and I was beginning to wonder if we would ever get her to a point where she could be called obedient🤦‍♀️. This course has been brilliant so far. Charlie Brown now lies down on command. This seems like such a small thing but for us it’s huge!! Darren has shown us that she is trainable and while we have a lot of work to do we have made huge steps forward! I can’t recommend the obedience classes enough. The classes aren’t too big but the dogs get to socialise and learn in a real environment with distractions as they would in day to day life. I will definitely be signing up for the next level after this, Darren knows his stuff and can adapt to any issues your dog may have.

    thumb Liz Newton
    August 19, 2019

    positive review  Certainly recommend Mindfulness4Dogs. Darren has taken Frank & I on a successful journey, which has allowed us to continue in our discipline. Many thanks, we will keep practicing our cues.

    thumb Pam Douglas
    August 15, 2019
  • positive review  I took our Dog Missy who is half Dalmatian half Beagle to see Darran after she showed signs of nervousness and distress. Darran taught us some ways of releasing the tension and unused energy which changed her for the better after one session. People started noticing a change in her behaviour, she is 10x better and we learnt how to read her better and work with her behaviours. Would highly recommend him.

    thumb Ilyn Signal
    August 12, 2019

    positive review  Would highly highly recommend Darran!! I have had two 1-1 sessions, the first session was with my 10 month old male Rottweiler who I was a bit worried was becoming anxious, aggressive towards other dogs & clingy. I was instantly absolutely mind blown by Darran’s unique technique & calm approach. I was so surprised by how effective our session was & what we achieved in such a small amount of time. My boy has already improved dramatically since our visit. My second 1-1 I brought along my 6 yr old female Rottweiler to work on the two together and her recall. My partner also tagged along & thought Darran was incredible. It was such an awesome experience, my partner & I have walked away with so many helpful tips & techniques and I’m excited to see the improvement in both dogs that is yet to come.

    thumb Brandi Murphy
    July 27, 2019

    positive review  We just finished our first session with our boy Moshe. Darran was excellent. Taught Moshe and us so much in such a short amount of time. Most excellent, we highly recommend Mindfulness4Dogs. Thank you Darran. 🙂

    thumb Carl Etz
    July 27, 2019
  • positive review  I took our dog Gus to see Darran as was starting to become aggressive towards other dogs as well as people he didn't know. Darran's training methods are excellent, he works in a wonderfully holistic way which has led to Gus beginning to be a much calmer dog. We now have a better relationship and I feel more able to communicate with him, with Gus showing more respect for me. I will continue to use Darran's training tips and tools well into the future.

    thumb Michelle Leitch
    July 26, 2019

    positive review  we brought a harness from M4D for our rescue pup who pulled on the lead, dramatic improvement in the first walk using the harness. she was happier, appeared to feel more secure and barely pulled at all. would recommend and will be getting another one for our big dog.

    thumb Elle Hayes
    July 23, 2019

    positive review  Would absolutely recommend Darren. He made me feel like anything is possible with my very high energy, over simulated Border Collie, Reggie. The techniques Darren taught me have shown great progress so far and can see the partnership between myself and Reggie has become stronger! I can’t wait to keep training and see Reggie blossom using these techniques!

    thumb Sami Toombs
    July 11, 2019
  • positive review  Darren has a canny knack of gettting right to the issue and pinpointing the behaviour that needs changing - then teaching you how. It means you can accomplish heaps in an hour or two that changes your relationship with your dog 🐕. Positively. Strongly recommend a one on one!

    thumb Ngaio Merrick
    July 2, 2019

    positive review  I have a now-3 year old Staffie X who was a pound puppy. I brought Lexie home when she was around one, and she is the most gentle, loving dog. BUT as I’ve discovered, like a lot of rescue animals, Lexie has issues including anxiety and behavioural (separation anxiety, how to play with other dogs without getting over excited, etc. or escaping the section and running away with no hope of listening or coming to a call or for treats, or pulling on the lead if she saw something she wanted to chase to the extent of pulling people over). The reason that I’m starting with this is so that I’ve got a measure of how far Lexie and I have come with Darran’s help. Before we met Darran, Lexie had always been to doggie day care to socialise. We went to basic obedience classes and we had another dog trainer/behavioural specialist come to our home to work with us about Lexie’s escapism as that is a major issue – apparently, ‘some dogs are just like that!’ Darran was our last hope to help Lexie become the calm, well-behaved and happy dog she is at home when she’s in other settings. With Darran’s training, and he trained me more than Lexie, I now understand what sort of player she is – and why it’s important to provide her with the right play. Darran has taught me about leads and I’ve now changed Lexie’s lead and how we walk, and it’s amazing! Very little pulling, and it’s a delight to take her out now rather than a struggle. I know how to help her through her anxiety and she’s become so much calmer and more chilled out, and I’m learning to have faith and trust in her. Because of this we’re building a deeper bond that is less about dependency and more about enjoying each other’s company. I was sceptical, I suppose, about mindfulness with dogs, but Lexie is proof that it works, and I can’t praise Darran and his methods enough. And to the lady who told me to get a shock collar – try it yourself, woman, and see if you’d sooner be hurt onto obedience or build a relationship based on trust that works better! Darran, never underestimate how much your working with Lexie and I has changed our life together. I’m now the proud dog owner who preens when people tell me how good she is, and I know that as we practice we will get better and better

    thumb Annie Andrews
    June 29, 2019

    positive review  My husband and I had our first session today with our 1 year old Staffy and we were mindblown by how unique, calm and not to mention effective our session was and what max and ourselves achieved in such a small time. 100% worth it. best experience ever! Darran is amazing at what he does.

    thumb Kylie McArthur
    June 23, 2019
  • positive review  Excellent training methods, helping us to live in harmony with our standard poodle puppy and small child. Thoroughly recommend Darran, unbelievably patient, and clearly loves what he does. Thanks Darran!

    thumb Shelley Scrafton
    June 20, 2019

    positive review  Darran is amazing ,Izzy my Lab crossed with springer Spaniel & I have spent the morning with him, & he has answered a lot of my questions without me even asking them, so thanks Darran I really appreciate all your help and highly recommend people to come to you for any of their problems with their family pups. Robyn

    thumb Robyn Jones
    June 8, 2019

    positive review  We could not recommend Darran enough! He has changed Mack’s and our lives! He has unleashed the most lovely, beautiful boy we knew was in there!!!

    thumb Nat Parsons
    June 7, 2019

We attended Darran’s classes and received great insight into dog behaviour and how best to communicate with our dog, including recognising the signals unintentionally being sent to him. The training skills we learned have been easily transferred to training various behaviours and have been invaluable to raising a calm, obedient, and happy dog. Darran was great because he personalised his approach according to the dog and the environment, and always took the time to address our specific concerns.

Andrea, Te’gan.

Hipolyteolyte

Follow Us

© 2019 Mindfulness4dogs®

Support Rescue Dogs in Waikato